Not really much going on at Tower Gonzo at the moment. The slow spinning wheels on the Madius train are creeping into town. 50Signal is at the printers and I made this statuette the other day. As a result I may be doing concept art for another stop motion animation movie. Hopefully this one won’t tank like the last one.

image

image

Something that has happened is that PAPERCUTS AND INKSTAINS ISSUE 1 the first official release from Madius Comics has hit shelves and is available now from the Internet store.

A reviewer made it official too that my weird creations are a reason to buy the comic. Lots of fuss has been made about my busy pages, but no one’s really reported on their contents so this makes a pleasing change.

image

We are also running a competition on the Facebook page to win some stuff. So go there now, follow the instructions and win things, including a bunch of original art pages by me.
I for one wouldn’t want original pages by me. I fix so much shit in post it’s unbelievable. For example: last page of my submission to PAPERCUTS and INKSTAINS I totally fucked up the characters eyes and had to rearrange them to so she didn’t look like a lobotomy patient. It’s really surreal giving away artwork. I spent quite a bit of time working on NO which is what it’s now called, originally CLEAN UP ON AISLE 37, but the huge NO on the first page cause reviewers to not read the title. I drew it mostly without pencils to keep it loose and weird, then just handed it over to Rob never to be seen again. The last page literally leaving the table to his hands as I finished it on his living room coffee table.

image

It’s official that I am attending Nottingham Comic Convention as well this year. It’s too far away to get a good gauge on what exactly I will be pushing upon you, but I bet it’ll be good stuff.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I’ve taken time out from reading really heavy philosophy books interspersed with modern poetry to read something more light hearted. I was reading The Conspiracy Against The Human Race, Weird Realities: H P Love craft and Philosophy and In The Dust Of This Planet and decided to switch to a biography of Stanley Kubrick. Kubrick was MY kind of controlling, misanthropic film maker. The control he wanted to exert over everything he made was both admirable and maddening. He also embraced ambiguity: something modern, glossy directors should embrace. I walked out of the BFI reissue of 2001 late last year, having gone on my lonesome, listening to a bunch of people throw their arms up in the air and cry out “But what does it mean” or more disturbingly talk about wrong interpretations. Urgh. The idea of about wrong interpretation is baffles me.
Anyway my light hearted reading ploy failed and I’m now reading A KIM JONG-IL PRODUCTION,  a book about North Korea and it’s film industry. North Korea is a weird place, simultaneously the butt of many of the world’s jokes and yet possibly the most terrifying nation on earth. We cover up our guilt about letting these horrific crimes against humanity continue by having a good chortle about how they dress weird in clothes and Kim Jong-Un has a weird haircut.

Oddly I have become the part owner if a car that actually is the same model used in North Korea as taxis.

image

So here ends another blog post.

